The Eleventh International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming 2023 will be held hybrid on Friday, 2nd of June 2023. It is co-located with the 2023 ACM Symposium of Eye Tracking Research & Applications (ETRA).

The study of eye gaze data has great potential for research in computer programming, computing education, and software engineering practice. The Eleventh International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP 2023) will again focus on advancing the methodological, theoretical, and applied aspects of eye movements in programming. The goal of the workshop is to further develop the methodology of using eye gaze tracking for programming, both theoretically and in applications. What can gaze behavior tell us about cognitive processes during programming? This question enables us to understand the role of human factors involved in programming.

Topics of Interest

We invite contributions analyzing gaze behavior of activities related to programming, such as code reading and debugging, social aspects, vision, and educational perspectives. These may include, but are not limited to, the role of emotions in programming, vision-based models, readability, and new theories of program comprehension. Contributions are expected to present implications to software engineering practice or programming education. Specific topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

• Identification and analysis of appropriate data abstractions for eye tracking analysis

• Models of cognition about software development

• Effects of text-based, graphical, or diagram-based program representations

• Effects of syntax or language features, as well as programming paradigms

• Identification and analysis of behaviors and strategies oflearners’ reading, writing, and debugging code, acquiring new domains and skills, longitudinal growth

• Challenges for learners or software engineers (e.g., obstacles to learning or accomplishing tasks)

• Applications for eye tracking, e.g., software engineering tasks, such as program comprehension, debugging, requirements traceability, change tracking

• Development and evaluation of tools and processes for working with eye tracking

• Development and evaluation of visualizations for static and dynamic program execution

• Applications offering programming assistance or accessibility using eye tracking devices, data, and analyses

• Combinations of eye tracking with other sensing modalities,such as fMRI, EEG, GSR, or fNIRS

• Multi-person eye tracking, e.g., during pair programming orcollaborative problem solving

• Eye gaze datasets and source code amenable to eye gazestudies

• Analyses of pre-existing eye gaze datasets, e.g. the EMIP dataset

• Development of platforms, tools, and methods which enable reproducible experiments

Venue and Dates

The Workshop will be held in a hybrid fashion in Tübingen, Germany at the ACM Symposium of Eye Tracking Research & Applications (ETRA).

Important dates:

• Deadline for papers: 18 February 2023 22 February 2023

• Notification to authors: 15 March 2023

• Camera-ready Deadline: 04 April 2023

• Workshop: Friday, June 2nd from 1:00 - 5:30PM

You can register for the workshop here:

Submissions and Presentations

The workshop will be devoted to presenting new research results. We invite several types of contributions:

• new research results

• new ideas

• demos

Submitted papers can contain up to 8 pages (single column, plus references).

Additionally, EMIP will feature work-in-progress papers with up to 4 pages (single column, plus references). These will be reviewed lightly, but not published in the proceedings.

Submissions must be written in English and should be submitted through Precision Conference System (PCS). To submit a paper, please visit:, select “Society: ETRA, Conference: ETRA2023, Track: ETRA 2023 – EMIP”. Your submission should be prepared following the ETRA paper template instructions. Please use the ACM article template for all submissions with the manuscript,review,anonymous style.

Each submission will be reviewed by three members of the program committee. All accepted papers will be published in ETRA’s short paper proceedings in the ACM Digital Library. If a submission is accepted, at least one author of the paper is required to attend the workshop and (virtually) present the paper.

Follow us on Twitter or Facebook for news and updates.

Accepted Papers

Author(s) Paper Title
Peng Kuang, Emma Söderberg, Diederick C. Niehorster, Martin Höst Applying Machine Learning to Gaze Data in Software Development: A Mapping Study
William Saranpää, Student Felix Apell Skjutar, Johan Heander, Emma Söderberg, Diederick C. Niehorster, Olivia Mattsson, Hedda Klintskog, Luke Church GANDER: a Platform for Exploration of Gaze-driven Assistance in Code Review
Florian Hauser, Lisa Grabinger, Jürgen Horst Mottok, Hans Gruber Visual Expertise in Code Reviews - Using Holistic Models of Image Perception to Analyze and Interpret Eye Movements
Sören Sparmann, Carsten Schulte Analysing the API learning process through the use of eye tracking
Zubair Ahsan, Unaizah Obaidellah Is Clustering Novice Programmers Possible? Investigating Scanpath Trend Analysis in Programming Tasks
Ming Sun, Minoru Nakayama Program Code Navigation Model by Visual for Individuals based on LSTM with Co-clustering

Workshop Organizers

  • Teresa Busjahn — HTW Berlin, Germany
  • Florian Hauser — OTH Regensburg, Germany
  • Jürgen Mottok — OTH Regensburg, Germany
  • Norman Peitek — Saarland University, Saarland Informatics Campus, Germany

Program Committee

  • Naser Al Madi, Colby College
  • Roman Bednarik, University of Eastern Finland
  • Andrew Begel, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Martha Crosby, University of Hawaii
  • Sarah D’Angelo, Google
  • Michael Dodd, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Andrew Duchowski, Clemson University
  • Dror Feitelson, Hebrew University
  • Yann-Gaël Guéhéneuc, Concordia University
  • Birte Heinemann, RWTH Aachen
  • Enkelejda Kasneci, Technical University of Munich
  • Jonathan Maletic, Kent State University
  • Ian McChesney, Ulster University
  • Unaizah Obaidellah, University of Malaya
  • James Paterson, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Stanislav Popelka, Palacký University Olomouc
  • Carsten Schulte, Paderborn University
  • Zohreh Sharafi, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Bonita Sharif, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Janet Siegmund, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Sascha Tamm, Free University of Berlin
  • Hidetake Uwano, Nara Institute of Science and Technology