The Eighth International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP) will be held virtually on May 27th 2021 from 3pm to 6pm (CEST). It is co-located with the 13th ACM Symposium on Eye Tracking Research and Applications (ETRA 2021).

The study of eye gaze data has great potential for research in computer programming, computing education, and software engineering practice. The Eighth International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP 2021) will again focus on advancing the methodological, theoretical, and applied aspects of eye movements in programming. The goal of the workshop is to further develop the methodology of using eye gaze tracking for programming, both theoretically and in applications. What can gaze behavior tell us about cognitive processes during programming? This question enables us to understand the role of human factors involved in programming.

Workshop Program

Time Presenter Topic/Paper
3:00pm – 3:20pm Norman Peitek, Roman Bednarik, Marjaana Puurtinen Workshop Opening
3:20pm – 3:40pm Salwa Aljehane, Bonita Sharif, Jonathan Maletic Determining Differences in Reading Behavior Between Experts and Novices by Investigating Eye Movement on Source Code Constructs During a Bug Fixing Task
3:40pm – 4:00pm Teresa Busjahn, Sascha Tamm Deeper Analysis of AOI Coverage in Code Reading
4:00pm – 4:20pm Hiroto Harada, Minoru Nakayama Estimation of reading ability of program codes using features of eye movements
4:20pm – 4:30pm   Break
4:30pm – 4:50pm Ian McChesney, Raymond Bond Eye Tracking Analysis of Code Layout, Crowding and Dyslexia – An Open Data Set
4:50pm – 5:10pm Naser Al Madi, Drew T Guarnera, Bonita Sharif, Jonathan Maletic EMIP Toolkit: A Python Library for Customized Post-processing of the Eye Movements in Programming Dataset
5:10pm – 5:30pm Jonas Mucke, Marc Schwarzkopf, Janet Siegmund REyeker: Remote Eye Tracker
5:30pm – 5:45pm Teresa Busjahn Next EMIP
5:45pm Norman Peitek, Roman Bednarik, Marjaana Puurtinen Workshop Closing

Each paper features a ~10-minute presentation with 10 minutes of Q&A.

Paper Submission

Details on how to submit a paper are in the call for papers.

Follow us on Twitter or Facebook for news and updates.

Workshop Organizers

Program Committee

  • Teresa Busjahn, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin
  • Martha Crosby, University of Hawaii
  • Fabian Deitelhoff, Fachhochschule Dortmund
  • Michael Dodd, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Dror Feitelson, Hebrew University
  • Yann-Gaël Guéhéneuc, École Polytechnique de Montréal
  • Martin Konôpka, Kempelen Institute of Intelligent Technologies in Bratislava
  • Jonathan Maletic, Kent State University
  • Ian McChesney, Ulster University
  • Christian Newman, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Unaizah Obaidellah, University of Malaya
  • James Paterson, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Bonita Sharif, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Jozef Tvarozek, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava