Workshop Overview

The Seventh International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP) will be held on Tuesday 02 June 2020 in Stuttgart, Germany. It is co-located with the 12th ACM Symposium on Eye Tracking Research and Applications (ETRA2020).

EMIP 2020 happened in a virtual and asynchronous manner spanning over the next week (June 1st to 5th, 2020).

The study of eye gaze data has great potential for research in computer programming, computing education, and software engineering practice. The Seventh International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP 2020) will again focus on advancing the methodological, theoretical, and applied aspects of eye movements in programming. The goal of the workshop is to further develop the methodology of using eye gaze tracking for programming, both theoretically and in applications. What can gaze behavior tell us about cognitive processes during programming? This question enables us to understand the role of human factors involved in programming.

Topics of Interest

We invite contributions analyzing gaze behavior of activities related to programming, such as code reading and debugging, social aspects, vision, and educational perspectives. These may include, but are not limited to, the role of emotions in programming, vision-based models, readability, and new theories of program comprehension. Contributions are expected to present implications to industrial programming practice or programming education. Specific topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Practical methods of using eye tracking
  • Identification and analysis of appropriate data abstractions
  • Models of cognition about software development
  • Effects of text-based, graphical, or diagram-based program representations
  • Effects of syntax or language features, as well as programming paradigms
  • Identification and analysis of behaviors and strategies of learners’ reading, writing, and debugging code, acquiring new domains and skills, longitudinal growth
  • Challenges for learners or software engineers (e.g., obstacles to learning or accomplishing tasks)
  • Applications for eye tracking, e.g., software engineering tasks, such as program comprehension, debugging, requirements traceability, change tracking
  • Development and evaluation of tools and processes for working with eye tracking
  • Development and evaluation of visualizations for static and dynamic program execution
  • Applications offering programming assistance or accessibility using eye tracking devices, data, and analyses
  • Combinations of eye tracking with other sensing modalities, such as fMRI, EEG, or fNIRS
  • Multi-person eye tracking, e.g., during pair programming or collaborative problem solving
  • Eye gaze datasets and source code amenable to eye gaze studies
  • Analyses of pre-existing eye gaze datasets
  • Development of platforms, tools, and methods which enable reproducible experiments

Submissions and Presentations

One half of the workshop will be devoted to presenting new research results. The other will focus on facilitating discussion, teaching practical skills, and growing the community. Furthermore, we will have a hands-on demo session, in which participants can use eye trackers, explore promising analytical pipelines, and see potential outcomes of eye tracking studies.

We invite short papers contributions (up to 4 pages, without references). Submissions must be written in English.

We use ETRA’s PCS system for submission handling. To submit a paper, please visit:, select “Society: ETRA, Conference: ETRA2020, Track: ETRA 2020 Workshop – Eye Movements in Programming EMIP”. Your submissions should be prepared following the sigconf instructions. You can find detailed information for Word users on the ETRA’s submission process page.

Each submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the program committee. All accepted papers will be published in ETRA’s short paper proceedings in the ACM Digital Library. If a submission is accepted, at least one author of the paper is required to attend the workshop and present the paper in person.

Important Dates

Deadline for papers: February 25th, 2020

Notification to authors: March 20th, 2020

Camera-ready deadline: April 1st, 2020

Workshop: Tuesday, June 2nd, 2020 June 1st to 5th 2020

Accepted Papers

  • Selina Emhardt, Halszka Jarodzka, Saskia Brand-Gruwel, Christian Drumm, Tamara van Gog: The Role of Teachers’ Didactic Guidance When Fostering Programming Education with Eye-Tracking Technology
  • Natalia Chitalkina, Roman Bednarik, Marjaana Puurtinen, Hans Gruber: When you ignore what you see: How to study proof-readers’ error in pseudocode reading
  • Florian Hauser, Stefan Schreistter, Rebecca Reuter, Jürgen Horst Mottok, Hans Gruber, Kenneth Holmqvist, Nick Schorr: Code Reviews in C++: Preliminary Results from an Eye Tracking Study
  • Hiroto Harada, Minoru Nakayama: Eye Movement Features in response to Comprehension Performance during the Reading of Codes
  • Unaizah Obaidellah, Tanja Blascheck, Drew T. Guarnera, Jonathan Maletic: A Fine-grained Assessment on Novice Programmers’ Gaze Patterns on Pseudocode Problems
  • Naser Al Madi, Cole S Peterson, Bonita Sharif, Jonathan Maletic: Can the E-Z Reader Model Predict Eye Movement Over Code? Towards a Model of Eye Movement Over Source Code

Workshop Organizers

  • Bonita Sharif, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
  • Norman Peitek, Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology
  • Marjaana Puurtinen, University of Turku

    Program Committee

  • Roman Bednarik, University of Eastern Finland
  • Andrew Begel, Microsoft
  • Martha Crosby, University of Hawaii
  • Sarah D’Angelo, Google
  • Fabian Deitelhoff, Fachhochschule Dortmund
  • Michael Dodd, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Dror Feitelson, Hebrew University
  • Yann-Gaël Guéhéneuc, École Polytechnique de Montréal
  • Martin Konôpka, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Ian McChesney, Ulster University
  • Christian Newman, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Unaizah Obaidellah, University of Malaya
  • James Paterson, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Andreas Stefik, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Jozef Tvarozek, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava